top of page

Romance Writer's Weekly Blog Hop

Hi again and welcome back.

Here are this week's questions:

Was there a defining moment in your life when you knew you were going to become a writer? If so, what was it?

I had the opportunity to listen to some pretty amazing authors talk about their writing careers and then answer several questions from their readers/fans. During that time, it all made sense to me. What they talked about I totally understood and it felt like kindred spirits connecting. They were published authors and I "wanted" to be a published author and within that moment of listening and understanding, I knew that I could do this if I tried and if I worked at it.

When you write a story do you see it unfold as one big picture, or do you add layering in subsequent drafts?

Yes. I do both. I first write a very loose outline of the story unfolding and then I write it. On my re-reads and self edits, I add layers.

How many drafts do you usually write before you send your work to your editor?

Because I still have so very much to learn about writing a good story, I have done about 5 drafts on any story I've sent to the editor recently. Mostly, because the stories that were/are published this year were stories I started writing 5 years ago and I've learned a few things about writing along the way since then. Even that being said, as an writer, the story makes total sense inside your mind but doesn't always translate well on paper. Hence the need to continue learning how to do it well.

Thanks for stopping by my new blog. Be sure to copy and paste this link www.bettybolte.com/blog.htm into your web browser to hop on over to my writing mate's blog to see how she answered these same questions.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page